Which part of Ghana is Western Region?

Published by Anaya Cole on

Which part of Ghana is Western Region?

south Ghana
The Western Region is located in south Ghana, spreads from the Ivory Coast (Comoé District) in the west to the Central region in the east, includes the capital and large twin city of Sekondi-Takoradi on the coast, coastal Axim, and a hilly inland area including Elubo.

How many districts are in the Western Region of Ghana?

Administratively, the Western and Western North Regions comprises of 23 districts; 1 Metropolis, 10 Municipalities and 12 districts.

How many tribes are in Western Region of Ghana?

There are five major indigenous ethnic groups, namely, the Ahantas, who form 6.3 per cent of Ghanaians by birth in the region, Nzemas including the Evalue (10.6%), Wassa (11.7%), Sefwis (10.9%) and Aowins (2.5%).

Which regions are in the east of Ghana?

The Eastern Region consists of the Akwapim, Akyem, Kwahu, Krobo and Guans and each ethnic group has its own distinct, language festival practices.

Where is the Western Region?

The Western region of the United States includes ten states: Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Colorado, and Utah. These states have many things in common such as their geographic location. The Western region is located on the west coast of the United States.

Which part of Ghana is western North?

The Western North Region is one of the six new regions of Ghana created in 2019. The region is bounded by the Ivory Coast (Comoé District) on the west, the Central region in the southeast, and the Ashanti, Ahafo, Bono East and Bono regions in the north….

Western North Region
Time zone GMT
Area code(s) 031

Which region is Western North Region?

Which tribe are in the Western Region?

The native people of the Western Region are mostly Akans, speaking various dialects including: Ahanta, Nzema, Sefwi, Wassa, Brosa, and Pepesa. Pricipal religions are Christianity, African Aminism, and Islam.

How many MMDAs are in Western Region?

MMDAs in the Western Region Administratively, the Region has fourteen (14) MMDAs – 1 Metropolitan, 7 Municipal and 6 Districts with the Western Regional Co-ordinating Council (WRCC) as the highest political and administrative body in the Region responsible for its management and overall development.

Which part of Ghana is western north?

Which town is Eastern Region?

The capital town of Eastern Region is Koforidua. The Eastern region is the location of the Akosombo dam and the economy of the Eastern region is dominated by its high-capacity electricity generation. Eastern region covers an area of 19,323 square kilometres, which is about 8.1% of Ghana’s total landform.

Which towns are in western North?

As of now, the Western North Region constituencies include:

  • Bia East.
  • Bia West.
  • Bodi.
  • Sefwi-Akontombra.
  • Sefwi-Wiawso.
  • Aowin.
  • Bibiani-Anhwiaso-Bekwai.
  • Juabeso.

How many districts are in Western North Region?

Western North Region has its capital as Sefwi Wiawso and has nine Municipal and District Assemblies (MDAs) under its jurisdiction.

Which part of Ghana is north east?

The North East Region is one of the sixteen regions of Ghana. It is located in the north of the country and was created in December 2018 after a referendum was voted upon to break it off of the Northern region. The region’s capital is Nalerigu….North East Region, Ghana.

North East Region
ISO 3166 code GH-NP

What is the capital of Western Region?

The former ten regional boundaries were officially established in 1987, when the Upper West Region was inaugurated as the state’s newest administrative region….Current regions.

Former Region Western
Capital Sekondi-Takoradi
New Region Western
Capital Takoradi

Where is Western north in Ghana?

The Western North Region is one of the six new regions of Ghana created in 2019. The region is bounded by the Ivory Coast (Comoé District) on the west, the Central region in the southeast, and the Ashanti, Ahafo, Bono East and Bono regions in the north.

What is the 11 Western?

(o) The term “eleven contiguous Western States” means the States of Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

What are the new regions of Ghana?

Before 2018 these were the regions of Ghana; Ashanti, Brong Ahafo, Eastern, Upper East, Upper West, Western, Northern, Central, Greater Accra, and Volta. However, the new regions of Ghana is the 16 list below. Ashanti region is one of the most populous region in Ghana with 27 district and more than 4,780,380 people.

How many districts are in the central region of Ghana?

With 13 districts, the locale is situated on the northern sides of Ghana. The region is the second smallest among the ten. Involving a surface area of 8,842 square kilometres makes it the second smallest by measure. The capital city is Bolgatanga, which is generally alluded as (Bolga). It has a populace of 1,046,545, despite the size. 8.

What languages are spoken in the north east region of Ghana?

Sefwi, Akan, French, and English are the core languages spoken in the Western North part. North East area is among the new current regions in the country. It is positioned north of Ghana and its capital is Nalerigu in the East Mamprusi Municipal.

Categories: FAQ