What was Kawiti opinion on the treaty?

Published by Anaya Cole on

What was Kawiti opinion on the treaty?

Kawiti was not in a trusting mood when confronted by Hobson and other British officials at the Waitangi meeting on 5 and 6 February 1840. He refused to sign the treaty for fear that his sacred moko would provide the means by which the government would commence taking the lands.

What did Kawiti do at the Treaty of Waitangi?

At Waitangi in February 1840 Kawiti argued against a treaty with the English. He spoke of wanting to retain his lands, and his concerns about British soldiers arriving to enforce the Governor’s words. He finally did sign the Māori version in May that year after his people persuaded him to do so.

What did Te Ruki Kawiti do?

Te Ruki Kawiti (1770s – 5 May 1854) was a prominent Māori rangatira (chief). He and Hōne Heke successfully fought the British in the Flagstaff War in 1845–46.

Who wrote and translated the Treaty of Waitangi?

Britain recognised New Zealand as a separate country because they accepted the Declaration of Independence that had been signed five years before. Busby and Hobson together wrote a draft treaty. A missionary, Henry Williams, and his son, Edward, translated it into Māori.

Who cut down the flagpole?

Hōne Heke
Hōne Heke was the first of 45 powerful northern chiefs to sign the Treaty at Waitangi. He later grew disappointed at the loss of trade with European ships, and at challenges to his authority. From late 1844 he and his men repeatedly cut down the flagpole above the bay at Kororāreka.

What does Te Tiriti o Waitangi represent?

The Treaty of Waitangi was signed in 1840 and was an agreement between the British Crown and a large number of Māori chiefs. Today the Treaty is widely accepted to be a constitutional document that establishes and guides the relationship between the Crown in New Zealand (embodied by our government) and Māori.

What did te Tiriti say?

Article Two: Te Tiriti guaranteed chiefs ‘te tino rangatiratanga’ – chieftainship over their lands, villages and treasured things. It also gave the Crown the right to deal with Māori in buying land. The English version gave chiefs ‘exclusive and undisturbed possession’ of lands, forests, fisheries and other property.

What is Kororāreka also known as?

Russell, known as Kororareka in the early 19th century, was the first permanent European settlement and seaport in New Zealand. It is situated in the Bay of Islands, in the far north of the North Island.

Why was the Treaty of Waitangi a cause of Heke’s decision to cut down the flagstaff at Kororāreka?

Cutting it down was a highly symbolic act, reflecting Heke’s unhappiness with the reality of British sovereignty. To him, the British ensign flying high above Kororāreka (on his flagstaff) reflected the loss of Māori mana .

What do the 3 principles of the Treaty of Waitangi mean?

The three “P’s”, as they are often referred to, are the principles of partnership, participation and protection. These underpin the relationship between the Government and Māori under the Treaty of Waitangi. These principles are derived from the underlying tenets of the Treaty.

What are the three principles of Te Tiriti o Waitangi?

The “3 Ps” comprise the well-established Crown Treaty framework – the principles of partnership, participation and protection. They came out of the Royal Commission on Social Policy in 1986.

What is te Tiriti of Waitangi?

Te Tiriti o Waitangi was a written agreement made in 1840 between the British Crown (the monarch) and more than 500 Māori chiefs. After that, New Zealand became a colony of Britain and Māori became British subjects. However, Māori and Europeans had different understandings and expectations of the treaty.

Who was Russell NZ named after?

Lord John Russell
When the Colony of New Zealand was founded in that year, Hobson was reluctant to choose Kororareka as his capital, due to its bad reputation. Instead he purchased land at Okiato, situated five kilometres to the south, and renamed it Russell in honour of the Secretary of State for the Colonies, Lord John Russell.

What is Russell in Māori?

Before Europeans arrived in New Zealand Russell was known by its Maori name, Kororareka.

What was Hone Heke’s perspective on the Treaty?

Heke spoke persuasively in favour of signing an agreement with the British. But he, along with many other Maori in the north, soon became disillusioned. He saw that government actions were undermining rangatiratanga (chiefly authority).

What happened at the Battle of Puketutu?

A British assault party of more than 200 men attacked Puketutu on 8 May. They were surprised by 140 fighters led by Te Ruki Kawiti who had been hiding in the bush. Turning to deal with Kawiti, the British appeared to be gaining the upper hand when Heke led a group from the pā. Fierce fighting ensued.

Why did King Kawiti sign the Treaty of Waitangi?

Kawiti initially refused to sign the Treaty of Waitangi on 6 February 1840, believing that it would inevitably lead to further European encroachment and the loss of Māori land. However he eventually yielded to pressure from his own people and signed the Treaty in May 1840, right at the top, above those chiefs who had signed earlier.

Who was Te Ruki Kawiti?

Te Ruki, ‘the Duke’, Kawiti was a reluctant signatory to the Treaty, having earlier signed He Whakaputanga. A brilliant military strategist who fought against British forces in the 1845–46 Northern Wars, he was responsible for some of the earliest anti-artillery bunkers used in warfare.

What rights did Māori have in the Treaty of Waitangi?

In the Māori text of article 1, Māori gave the British ‘kawanatanga’, the right of governance, whereas in the English text, Māori ceded ‘sovereignty’. One of the problems that faced the original drafters of the te reo Māori text of the Treaty was that ‘sovereignty’ had no direct equivalent in the context of Māori society.

Where are the Treaty of Waitangi sheets now?

It was announced in 2012 that the nine Treaty of Waitangi sheets would be relocated to the National Library of New Zealand in 2013. [93] In 2017, the He Tohu permanent exhibition at the National Library opened, displaying the treaty documents along with the Declaration of Independence and the 1893 Women’s Suffrage Petition.

Categories: FAQ