What is national communication to the UNFCCC?

Published by Anaya Cole on

What is national communication to the UNFCCC?

A national communication is a report that each Party to the Convention prepares periodically in accordance with the guidelines developed and adopted by the Conference of the Parties (COP).

What are the Annex 1 countries?

Annex I countries

  • Australia.
  • Austria.
  • Belarus.
  • Belgium.
  • Bulgaria.
  • Canada.
  • Croatia.
  • Cyprus.

What is a national communication?

The National Communication Association advances Communication as the discipline that studies all forms, modes, media, and consequences of communication through humanistic, social scientific, and aesthetic inquiry.

What is natcom India?

The NATCOM process comprises comprehensive scientific and technical exercises for estimating GHG emissions from different sectors, reduce uncertainties in current estimations, develop sector- and technology-specific emission coefficients pertinent to India, and assess the adverse impacts of climate change and …

Who is responsible for implementing and executing the national communication project?

The Ministry of Environment and Forests is the nodal ministry in the government of India for the subject of climate change and accordingly is the executing and implementing agency for India’s NATCOM II (Fig 6), whereas the United Nations Development Programme, India (UNDP, India) is the GEF implementing agency.

What are non-Annex countries?

Non-Annex I countries are developing countries, under the Kyoto Protocol. Non-Annex I countries do not have legally binding emissions reductions targets. Solomon Islands is a Non-Annex I country.

What is Annex 2?

Annex II addresses discharge criteria and measures for controlling pollution caused by Noxious Liquid Substances (NLS) carried in bulk. Annex II is applicable to oceangoing vessels and non-self propelled oceangoing ships that carry NLS cargos.

Which are awards given by NCA?

Each year, NCA honors the best in Communication, presenting awards for outstanding scholarship, teaching, and professional service, as well as the NCA Legacy Scholarship. The awards recognize a wide range of contributions to the Communication discipline. The Call for Nominations for NCA awards is issued in February.

What is natcom in green technology?

In this context, Indian Government has established National Communications (NATCOM) to the UNFCCC. National green house gas inventory under the NATCOM maintains complete mapping of green house gases such as CO2, CH4, SF6, N2O, PFC and HFC.

Is India signatory to UNFCCC?

India is a signatory to the UNFCCC and Kyoto Protocol. The latter was adopted in Kyoto in December 1997 and entered into force from February 2005.

What does the category Z mean?

Noxious Liquid Substances
Category Z: Noxious Liquid Substances which, if discharged into the sea from tank cleaning or deballasting operations, are deemed to present a minor hazard to either marine resources or human health and therefore justify less stringent restrictions on the quality and quantity of the discharge into the marine …

What are the six annexes of MARPOL?

MARPOL includes six technical annexes:

  • Annex I: Regulations for the prevention of pollution by oil.
  • Annex II: Regulations for the control of pollution by noxious liquid substances in bulk.
  • Annex III: Regulations for the prevention of pollution by harmful substances carried by sea in packaged form.

Which sector is largest emitter of co2 in India?

Energy sector
Energy sector accounts for more than 70% of greenhouse gas emissions in India. Within energy sector, electric power generation accounts for maximum emissions, followed by others like transport sector.

Categories: Trending