Is the pterygopalatine ganglion part of the maxillary nerve?

Published by Anaya Cole on

Is the pterygopalatine ganglion part of the maxillary nerve?

The maxillary nerve (V2) passes through the foramen rotundum and into the infraorbital canal, where, at the pterygopalatine fossa, it branches into the pterygopalatine ganglion, with parasympathetic and sensory branches to the paranasal sinuses.

What nerve goes to pterygopalatine ganglion?

The Vidian nerve is a combination of the greater petrosal and deep petrosal nerves, and it arrives at the pterygopalatine ganglion by way of the pterygoid canal.

What are the branches of maxillary nerve in the pterygopalatine fossa *?

Named branches from the pterygopalatine ganglion are orbital, nasopalatine, posterior superior nasal, greater (anterior) palatine, lesser (posterior) palatine and pharyngeal nerves.

What are the branches of pterygopalatine ganglion?


  • nasopalatine nerve.
  • posterior superior nasal nerves.
  • greater palatine nerve.
  • lesser palatine nerves.
  • pharyngeal nerve.

What does the pterygopalatine nerve innervate?

The branches of the pterygopalatine ganglion carry parasympathetic, sympathetic, and general sensory fibers to several locations by way of its six branches. The mixed nerve fibers travel through the cranial ostia to innervate the nose, palate, and nasopharynx.

What are the 14 branches of the maxillary nerve?

It gives rise to numerous sensory branches:

  • Superior alveolar nerve (anterior, posterior and middle)
  • Middle meningeal nerve.
  • Infraorbital nerve.
  • Zygomatic nerve.
  • Inferior palpebral nerve.
  • Superior labial nerve.
  • Pharyngeal nerve.
  • Greater and lesser palatine nerves.

Is pterygopalatine ganglion and sphenopalatine ganglion same?

The pterygopalatine ganglion (also known as the nasal ganglion, or sphenopalatine ganglion) is one of four parasympathetic ganglia of the head and neck and largest of the peripheral parasympathetic ganglia. It receives parasympathetic fibers from the facial nerve.

What are the divisions of the maxillary nerve?

[1] It has three terminal branches, which in descending order are ophthalmic nerve (V1), maxillary nerve (V2), and mandibular nerve (V3). The ophthalmic and maxillary divisions carry only sensory fibers while the mandibular division carries both sensory and motor fibers.

What is maxillary division?

The maxillary nerve is the second division of the trigeminal nerve and is also known as the V2 division. This nerve is the middle division of the trigeminal nerve and is attached to the distal convex border of the trigeminal ganglion. The maxillary nerve exits from the cranial cavity through the foramen rotundum.

What are the branches of the maxillary division of the trigeminal nerve?

The maxillary nerve is divided into 3 branches: the zygomatic, pterygopalatine (or sphenopalatine), and posterior superior alveolar nerves.

Categories: Blog