Did Maradona Apologise for handball?

Published by Anaya Cole on

Did Maradona Apologise for handball?

Willing to bend the rules in any way to drag Argentina through, he excused the handball incident by claiming divine intervention. Peter Shilton, the goalkeeper who suffered at the hands of Maradona that day, has never come face to face with the Argentine since that day in 1986.

Who was Maradona’s hand of God shirt?

Steve Hodge
The shirt has been owned for the past 35 years by Steve Hodge, the England midfielder who unintentionally flicked the ball to Maradona for the handball goal.

Who conceded the hand of God?

English soccer fans have been waiting 22 years for Argentinian soccer legend Diego Maradona to apologise for his infamous “hand of God” goal against England during the 1986 World Cup.

Who is known as Hand of God?

The ‘hand of god’ referred to a goal scored by Maradona during the match between Argentina and England on June 22, 1986 in Mexico. Maradona had jumped to head the ball but ended up hitting it with his hand and went past the goalkeeper Peter Shilton to give Argentina a lead of 1-0 during the match.

Is Hand goal allowed in football?

As a result of rule-changes introduced in 2019, it is not possible to score an attacking goal with the hands or arm. If a goalkeeper throws the ball directly into the opponent’s goal from his/her own penalty area, no goal is awarded: instead a goal-kick is awarded to the defending side.

How did Steve Hodge get Maradona’s shirt?

Hodge requested to swap his shirt with Maradona after the match in Mexico. Maradona was considered the best player of all time in that era, and the “Hand of God” goal made that shirt more valuable than ever. Hodge admitted that he is “more known for that than for having a pretty decent football career”.

How much did Maradona’s shirt cost?

The jersey that Argentina’s Diego Maradona wore when he scored the “Hand of God” goal against England in the 1986 World Cup has sold for a world-record price of $9.28 million at an auction at Sotheby’s in London.

Did Messi do Hand of God?

Lionel Messi scored his own ‘hand of god’ goal on day Barca lost the title in 18 seconds – Mirror Online.

Categories: FAQ